Many of these resources are available both in the library and remotely from your home or office PC. Have your Queen Anne’s County library card handy for access. Don’t have library card? Sign up Here for a temporary online card.
E-Library
Gale Courses Convenient, instructor-led online courses that focus on personal growth and professional development. Choose from over 300 courses on a variety of topics, including business, technology, health care, and more.
Udemy Udemy is an online learning platform that provides nearly 20,000 online video-based learning courses in areas such as business, technology, software, and personal development.
Mango Languages Practical, conversational-based language lessons with a personalized review system, designed to adapt to individual learning pathways. Available in over 70 languages and through the web, iOS, or Android.
Northstar(Centreville link) (Kent Island link) Northstar Digital Literacy is a suite of tools to help users acquire or improve basic digital literacy skills. Improve your digital literacy skills in 3 areas: essential computer skills, essential software skills, and using technology in daily life at your own pace.
Overdrive Download eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines to a computer, mobile device, or mp3 player.
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete Educator’s Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Testing and Education Reference Center In-depth information about colleges, universities, and careers with standardized test preparation, tuition assistance tools, certification exams, and advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep This website helps people of all ages to prepare for both college and careers. Discover comprehensive test prep and career solutions from Peterson's, a world-leading educational provider.
Children’s Reading Resources
Beanstack Participate in online reading challenges and earn virtual badges all while receiving tailored reading recommendations sent directly to your inbox.
BookFlix A digital literacy resource developed by Scholastic for youth in grades PreK-3, pairing classic storybooks with related nonfiction titles as well as colorful animations, rich audio, and interactive games.
eReading Room for Kids A child friendly webpage where children can discover and download children’s eBooks and audiobooks.
National Geographic Kids Find full-text magazines and books, as well as videos and images. With just a few clicks students can explore science, animals, technology, cultures, and history.
DIY and How-To Guides
Creative Bug Access creative projects for every occasion with video classes taught by design experts and artists.
Encyclopedias
Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia 2003 A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations 2017 Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States 2016 Details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the United States. Maps, tables, flags and official state seals are included.
Genealogy and Local History
Ancestry.com Library Edition Locate genealogical and historical records from around the world, including census and vital records, immigration and passport records, plus books, photos, and more. This resource is only available within the library.
Genealogy Connect Hosted with Gale’s Virtual Reference Library, this collection of eBooks features topics such as the American Revolution, Aristocracy, Emigration and Immigration, Family History, Public Records, and more- all cross-searchable and always available.
Heritage Quest A comprehensive genealogical source powered by Ancestry that includes the census collection, city directories, military records, wills and probate records, images from the Freedman’s Bank, US Serial Sets, and plenty of maps and photos.
Maryland State Archives The State Archives serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Its holdings date from Maryland’s founding in 1634, and include colonial and state executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; church records; business records; state publications and reports; and special collections of private papers, maps, photographs, and newspapers.
Maryland State Land Records The Maryland Judiciary, the 24 elected Court Clerks of Maryland and the Maryland State Archives have joined in partnership to provide up to date access to all verified land record instruments in Maryland. This service is currently being provided free to all those interested in testing the system.
Health
Medline Plus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health’s Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Homework Help
BrainFuse BrainFuse is a database for test preparation, tutoring, and homework help; available seven days a week between the hours of 2:00pm and 11:00pm, EST. Spanish-speaking tutors available.
Gale Academic OneFile Select Full-text, abstracts, and indexes are integrated with core titles in every major academic concentration, from art and literature to economics and the sciences as well as new vocational/technical titles used by community college students.
Gale In Context: High School Cross-curricular content aligning with national and state standards, designed to enhance critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Includes archival film clips, images, and audio selections from NPR, BBC News, the New York Times, and more.
Gale In Context: Middle School Middle-School content covering the most-studied topics in literature, science, social studies, and history, as well as social issues – bridging the gap between elementary resources and more advanced high school databases.
Gale in Context: Elementary Research content designed for young learners, featuring an easy-to-use interface with age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content, covering a broad range of educational topics.
Legal Resources
IRS Website Find tax forms and information about paying your federal taxes.
The People’s Law Library of Maryland This award-winning website has provided information for self-represented litigants for over a decade. The purpose of the People’s Law Library is to provide self-represented litigants in Maryland state courts information about the law, including summaries of the law, links to primary and secondary legal sources and referrals for legal services.
Gale Legal Forms - Maryland Find help understanding common legal procedures and access to thousands of customizable legal documents. Using the templated forms, users can create accurate, reliable legal documents specific to their state without stress or uncertainty.
Magazines & Newspapers
Gale General OneFile Gale’s largest general-interest periodical database with more than 8,000 titles, including reference, newspaper, and audio content, in addition to journals and magazines.
Gale OneFile: News A full-text newspaper resource with access to over 230 newspapers, images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts from the U.S. and around the world
Local Digital Newspaper Archives We now have digital archives for the Record-Observer (1933-2018) and Bay Times (1965-2018). Easy to read and searchable, this new service is essential for any local history researcher or genealogist.
NewsBank Local Newspapers of Delmarva Search full-text and archived articles from local newspapers including Bay Times (8/2/06-Current), The Capital (1/1/02-Current), Dorchester Star (6/30/06-Current), Kent County News (11/30/06-Current), Record Observer (8/4/06-Current) , Star Democrat (11/16/05-Current),Sunday Star (11/13/05-Current), and the Times Record (8/2/06-Current).
Online Classes & Test Preparation
Adult Learning Center Designed to support adult learners and job seekers with services that include GED prep, 24/7 Writing Lab, Live Tutoring, Skills Building, Career Resources, U.S. Citizenship Prep, Microsoft Office Essential Skills Series, and 24/7 Question Center.
Driving-Tests.org This site provides free online practice tests and manuals for Maryland drivers seeking to earn a car, motorcycle, and/or CDL license.
Testing and Education Reference Center (Gale) In-depth information about colleges, universities, and careers with standardized test preparation, tuition assistance tools, certification exams, and advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
Readers Advisory
Books and Authors A premium resource by Gale Cengage, providing information on recommended authors and titles, both genre fiction and non-fiction, as well as authoritative reviews.
Library Reads The top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love.
NoveList Plus discover new books, authors, or series from a trusted source of experts. This database features read-alike recommendations, reviews, articles, lists, lexile ratings, and discussion guides for book clubs.
